Archive for April, 2013

Apparently There is a secret so big that Makueni Senator Mutula Kilonzo will take to his grave. It is a story he warned Standard reporter Roselyne Obala would shake Kenya. Here is the link to, via the Standard

So many speculations are also going on in the country on the cause of his death and Today’s GADO Cartoon in the Nation just said it all ”Nairobi Speculation Exchange.” Mutula Kilonzo’s death.

Here it is:


Have a great day buddies 





The country is in a somber mood mourning the death of Makueni senator who was also the former minister for education Mutula Kilonzo. The senator was found dead in his house on Saturday afternoon according to reports.

It is so sad that he had to die just nearly two months after his election as the Makueni senator.  He was a celebrated international lawyer who will be remembered for so many things. His dedication to serving Kenyans was clearly shown during his tenure in the different ministries he has held while in government, the ministry of justice and constitutional affairs and also the ministry of education which he held until he was elected the makueni senator in the last elections.

His death therefore is a very big blow to the legal fraternity in the country and also the country’s leadership. He is just among the great leaders the country has lost and he will surely be missed by many.

A postmortem exercise on his body is expected to be done today by the government pathologist to ascertain the cause of his death. At the same time, a team of investigators have been dispatched to his home to carry on more investigations.

As we mourn his untimely death we pray that his soul rests in eternal peace and that God gives his family the strength to go on during these trying moments.

Nixon Kanali, 




President Uhuru Kenyatta and his Deputy William Ruto today have named sixteen cabinet secretaries to the four they named yesterday.

Yesterday saw the nomination of cabinet secretaries to the following dockets; Information and Communication Technology, Health, National Treasury, and Foreign Affairs

Today, twelve more nominees have been made to fill the following dockets; Mining, Lands, Housing and Urban Development , Industrialization and Enterprise Development, Defence, Transport and Infrastructure, Devolution and Planning, Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries,  Water and Natural Resources, Sports and Culture and Education.

The nomination has also seen the return of Najib Balala and Charity Ngilu despite the assurance by the Deputy President yesterday the no politician will be named to the cabinet.

Here is the full list of the nominees and their respective cabinet:

1. Amb. Amina Mohammed – Foreign Affairs
2. Fred Matianga – Information, Communication and Technology
3. James Macharia – Health
4. Adan Mohammed – Industrialization and Enterprise Development
5. Anne Waiguru – Devolution and Planning
6. Davis Chirchir – Energy and Petroleum
7. Amb. Rachel Awuor Omamo – Defence
8. Eng. Michael S. Kamau – Transport and Infrastructure
9. Phillis Chepkosgey – East African Affairs, Commerce and Tourism
10. Prof. Jacob Kaimenyi – Education
11. Felix Kiptarus Kosgey – Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries
12. Prof. Judy Wakhungu – Environment, Water and Natural Resources
13. Dr. Hassan Wario – Sports, Culture and Arts
14. Najib Balala – Mining
15. Charity Ngilu – Lands and Urban Development
16. Henry Rotich – National Treasury

During the nominations, the president also announced the appointment of Francis Kimemia as head of cabinet secretary in what he termed as to ensure smooth transition and Leyampa Lawrence as the state house controller.

Two more cabinet nominees in the ministries of Labour, social security and services and ministry of interior coordination of National government are yet to be known.

Before taking office, the nominees are now to undergo serious vetting by the House Business Committee on Appointment consisting of 28 members

Nixon Kanali, Nairobi


Uhuru Should Stop Following the Footsteps of Mwai Kibaki in Tribalising Kenya


Uhur Kenyatta

It seems we are in for another 5 years f extreme ethnic chauvinism by the President. Now Uhuru has unveiled his cabinet and 3/4 of them are from Kikuyu and Kalenjin tribes with Kikuyus dominating most of the positions. Many of the selfish individuals in the media, government and politics who engage in ass-licking so as to be rewarded by Uhuru have said that the individuals are competent and deserve the appointments.

The truth is not only Kikuyus, Kalenjins, Somalis and Luos deserve appointments. We have other Kenyans who have never had someone from their tribe be a cabinet minister. Healing of this nation will be through fairness and fairness being seen to be done. You cannot call ethnic chauvinism “merit” and expect us to keep quiet.

There is nothing like merit here. If Uhuru cannot trust other ethnic groups with instruments of governance, he should tell us. The people…

View original post 189 more words

The president just made the first four nominees to the cabinet secretary’s position promising to name the rest as time goes by. 

Here are the nominees:

  1. Dr Fred Okengo Matiani as cabinet secretary nominee for Information, Communication and Technology,
  2. Henry Rotich named as Cabinet nominee for the National Treasury/finance,
  3. James Macharia named as Cabinet nominee for Ministry of Health, and
  4. Ambassador Amina Mohammed Assistant UN Sec Gen. Minister for Foreign Affairs

These are the names picked by the house Business Committee on Appointment and are expected to vet cabinet nominees expected to be named by the President Uhuru Kenyatta today 

1. The Hon. Justin B. Muturi, MP – Speaker of National Assembly
2. The Hon. (Dr) Joyce Laboso, MP – Deputy Speaker
3. The Hon. Aden Duale, MP – Leader of the Majority Party
4. The Hon. Francis Nyenze, MP – Leader of the Minority Party
5. The Hon. Naomi Shaban, MP – Deputy Leader of the Majority Party
6. The Hon. Jakoyo Midiwo, MP – Deputy Leader of the Minority Party
7. The Hon. Jackson Kiptanui, MP
8. The Hon. Issac Ali Shaban, MP
9. The Hon. Roselinda Soipan, MP
10. The Hon. Katoo Ole Metito, MP
11. The Hon. Jamleck Kamau, MP
12. The Hon. Amina Abdallah, MP
13. The Hon. Gideon Konchellah, MP
14. The Hon. Cecily Mbarire, MP
15. The Hon. Moses Cheboi, MP
16. The Hon. Nelson Gaichuhie, MP
17. The Hon. Boniface Gatobu, MP
18. The Hon. David Wafula, MP
19. The Hon. Esther Murugi, MP
20. The Hon. Ibrahim Sane, MP
21. The Hon. Mishi Juma Khamis, MP
22. The Hon. Manson Nyamweya, MP
23. The Hon. Maj. Gen. (Rtd) Joseph Nkaissery, MP
24. The Hon. Abass Ahmed Ibrahim, MP
25. The Hon. Chrisantus Wamalwa Wakhungu, MP
26. The Hon. Maj. (Rtd) Marcus Muluvi Mutua, MP
27. The Hon. Stephen Mutinda Mule, MP
28. The Hon. Ken Obura, MP