Uhuru’s new Cabinet unveiled

Posted: April 25, 2013 in Politics/Current issues




President Uhuru Kenyatta and his Deputy William Ruto today have named sixteen cabinet secretaries to the four they named yesterday.

Yesterday saw the nomination of cabinet secretaries to the following dockets; Information and Communication Technology, Health, National Treasury, and Foreign Affairs

Today, twelve more nominees have been made to fill the following dockets; Mining, Lands, Housing and Urban Development , Industrialization and Enterprise Development, Defence, Transport and Infrastructure, Devolution and Planning, Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries,  Water and Natural Resources, Sports and Culture and Education.

The nomination has also seen the return of Najib Balala and Charity Ngilu despite the assurance by the Deputy President yesterday the no politician will be named to the cabinet.

Here is the full list of the nominees and their respective cabinet:

1. Amb. Amina Mohammed – Foreign Affairs
2. Fred Matianga – Information, Communication and Technology
3. James Macharia – Health
4. Adan Mohammed – Industrialization and Enterprise Development
5. Anne Waiguru – Devolution and Planning
6. Davis Chirchir – Energy and Petroleum
7. Amb. Rachel Awuor Omamo – Defence
8. Eng. Michael S. Kamau – Transport and Infrastructure
9. Phillis Chepkosgey – East African Affairs, Commerce and Tourism
10. Prof. Jacob Kaimenyi – Education
11. Felix Kiptarus Kosgey – Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries
12. Prof. Judy Wakhungu – Environment, Water and Natural Resources
13. Dr. Hassan Wario – Sports, Culture and Arts
14. Najib Balala – Mining
15. Charity Ngilu – Lands and Urban Development
16. Henry Rotich – National Treasury

During the nominations, the president also announced the appointment of Francis Kimemia as head of cabinet secretary in what he termed as to ensure smooth transition and Leyampa Lawrence as the state house controller.

Two more cabinet nominees in the ministries of Labour, social security and services and ministry of interior coordination of National government are yet to be known.

Before taking office, the nominees are now to undergo serious vetting by the House Business Committee on Appointment consisting of 28 members

Nixon Kanali, Nairobi


  1. Nixon Kanali says:

    Uhuru nominates Joseph Ole Lenku Cabinet Secretary (Interior & Coordination) and Samwel Kazungu Kambi (Labour, Social Security and Services). The two cabinet positions that had not been filled

  2. it doesn’t astonished alongside with your writing skills [url=http://cheapdesignerhandbagsoutlets.webs.com/]black designer handbags[/url] black designer handbags

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s